Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Early days of the Indianapolis Speedway and Indy 500

Start of the first 500 mile race, Indy 500, at the Indianapolis Speedway
on Memorial Day, May 30th, 1911
1911 First Indy 500 winner Ray Harroun crossing the finish line
driving a Firestone-shod yellow #32 Marmon "Wasp". Avg. Speed - 74.602 mph. The car is
on display at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum.
Infield photo during the first 1911 Indy 500 race.
Photo of 1913 Indy 500 race. The winner was Jules Goux driving a Peugeot. Avg Speed: 78.719 mph
"Fast Eddie", Eddie Rickenbacker in a 1914 Duesenberg.
Rickenbacker bought the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 1927 and ran it until he sold it in 1945.
Louis Chevrolet and his mechanic Dutch Klein in the Cornelian at the Speedway.
The car was the hope of Allegan, Michigan for the development of their city in 1915. 
1921 Indy 500 winner Tommy Milton with Barney Oldfield, Louis Cheverolet and others. The car is a straight-eight Frontenac built by Louis Chevrolet.
1923 Photo of the speedway. Tommy Milton won the race with an average speed of 90.545 mph
1924 Indy 500 winner L.L.Corum driving a Duesenberg Special - Avg speed - 98.23 mph
1926 Pre-race qualifying photo. The race was won by Frank Lockhart driving a Miller. Avg speed: 95.904 mph. Lockhart was originally signed to be a relief driver for Peter Kreis but ended up replacing Kreis after setting a new unofficial track record on his first qualifying lap. Photo by Underwood & Underwood.
1927 Indy 500 winner George Souders driving a Duesenberg Special. Avg Speed 97.545 mph
Infield photo from the 1930 Indy 500. The race was won by Billy Arnold with an avg. speed of  100.448 mph. He won by a margin of 7 minutes and 17 seconds.
1931 Indy 500 winner Louie Schneider and mechanic Jigger Johnson. Avg Speed: 96.629
1937 Indy 500 winner Wilbur Shaw and mechanic Jigger Johnson in a Gilmore Special. Avg Speed: 113.580 mph. Shaw won the race in 1937, 1939 and 1940. After racing, Shaw served as president of the speedway and helped cement it's reputation as the "Greatest Spectacle in Racing"
Photo from 1938 Indy 500 with the Pace Car in front. The race was won by Floyd Roberts with an Avg. Speed of  117.20 mph. Roberts was killed the following year in a fatal crash in the same car along the back stretch.
1951 Indianapolis 500 winner Lee Wallard in a Belanger Special. Avg. Speed: 126.244 mph.  Wallard was severely burned in a race a week after this picture was taken and required 27 skin grafts.
1956 Indy 500 winner Pat Flaherty. Avg Speed: 128.490 mph. Less than 3 months after winning the race he was severely injured in a racing crash.
1961 Indianapolis winner A.J. Foyt. Avg. Speed: 139.13 mph. He won the Indy 500 4 times and is the only driver to win the Indianapolis 500, Daytona 500, 24 Hours of Daytona and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.
1962 Indianapolis 500 winner Rodger Ward. Avg Speed: 140.293 mph

1970 Indy 500 winner Al Unser - Avg Speed - 155.749 mph
These and many other Indy 500 and Indianapolis Speedway photos are available on our webstore and eBay store. Who's your favorite Indy driver?

1 comment:

  1. If toyota dealers long island would market this type of race cars, it would be selling like pancakes. I wonder where these race cars are now.